News: Oliver Huntemann Will Be Dropping His New LP, ‘Propaganda’ This Weekend at Brown Alley!

Words: Sarah Bayly

Senso Sounds is happy to announce Oliver Huntemann‘s forthcoming fifth LP, ‘Propaganda’, out 13th October.  Hailing from Germany, Huntemann has been in the game for over two decades and is one of Techno’s most esteemed DJ/producers.

His latest album Propaganda, is the first since 2011 and follows the recent success of the LP’s first single ‘Rotlicht’. ‘Propaganda’is released on his own label, Senso Sounds, known for the finest underground dance music.

Throughout his career, the gifted Hamburg-based ​DJ/​producer has achieved much praise and recognition through releasing four acclaimed artist albums (‘Paranoia 2011, H-3 2009, Fieber 2006 and Too Many Presents For One Girl 2004), numerous  EPs and remixes plus collaborating with the likes of Dubfire, Stephan Bodzin and André Winter.

As Huntemann’s 5th LP, ‘Propaganda’ shows a different side to the respected and prominent names in Techno. Huntemann explains, “The sound of Propaganda is more grown up, I’ve left the times of reducing to the max behind to create a certain atmosphere throughout the whole album. Of course most tracks work well on the dancefloor but the task was also to make them as interesting as possible for listening sessions – simply to reach another level.”

‘Propaganda’opens with track Taktik, and the mood is quickly established through drum programming and deep, pulsing bass lines with the second cut of track ‘Poltergeist’, continuing this vibe.

With the whole album pushing 1hr 15 minutes, the 12-tracker allows each track to have the time it needs to unfold. ‘Egoist’ ramps up the feel with intricate melodies before breaking down a d-floor banger. The beauty of the album is the various mood changes,and ‘Malaria’ brings a shift with an edgy vibe. Further down the list, track ‘Anonym’ has an atmosphere that serves as an ambient / downbeat interlude with ‘Rotlicht,’ a highlight for Huntemann fans, containing all the control and release dynamic that makes his sets such an attraction.

Next up is ‘Absurd’, followed by ‘Manipulation’ – both referencing the Huntemann sound that he instills into his precision-built tracks, while maintaining club vibes at all times. ‘Momentum’ switches up the tempo again, perhaps influenced by more experimental waves, which serves as punctuation before the album’s final layer. The final tracks include ‘Doppelgänger’ which builds tension through until ‘Trick17’ ultimately rounds off the album. ‘Propaganda’ becomes an expanse of emotionally charged techno with the signature Huntemann feel woven in.

‘Propaganda’ is available via Senso Sounds on October 13th 2017 but don’t miss the Australian tour to hear it first:

Melbourne – Brown Alley Nightclub – September ​ 28

Canberra – Mr Wolf – September 29

Sydney – Goodbar  and Days Like This Festival, Greenwood, Sydney – September 30




  1. Taktik
  2. Poltergeist
  3. Egoist
  4. Malaria
  5. Rotlicht
  6. Anonym
  7. Absurd
  8. Manipulation
  9. Vertigo
  10. Momentum
  11. Doppelgänger
  12. Trick 17